Award of the IB diploma


EA = External assessment (by IBO examiners)

IA = Internal assessment (by teachers, moderated by IBO examiners)


The grading scale is from 1 point (min) to 7 points (max).

Maximum points from subjects are 6*7 = 42.

Maximum points for IB Diploma are 45.  Minimum points for IB Diploma are 24.

Extra points can be awarded for TOK Essay and EE, maximum of 3 points, see the matrix below.


Note that an E in either TOK or EE is a failing condition.

Award of the IB Diploma (Article 13 in “General regulations: Diploma Programme”)

All assessment components for each of six subjects (IA and EA) must be completed. CAS, TOK and EE requirements have been met.  The final award committee has not judged the candidate to be guilty of malpractice.

The IB Diploma will be awarded to a candidate provided that all the following requirements have been met:

1.     CAS requirements have been met.

2.     The candidate’s total points are 24 or more.

3.     There is no “N” awarded for TOK, EE or for a contributing subject.

4.     There is no grade E awarded for TOK and/or EE.

5.     There is no grade 1 awarded in a subject/level.

6.     There are no more than two grade 2s awarded (HL or SL).

7.     There are no more than three grades 3s or below awarded (HL or SL).

8.     At least 12 points have been gained on three HL subjects (four HL = the three highest count).

9.     At least 9 points have been gained on three SL subjects (two SL = at least 5 points at SL).

A bilingual diploma will be awarded to a successful candidate who fulfills one or both of the following criteria (article 14.2):

  • Completion of two languages selected from group 1 with the award of a grade 3 or higher in both.
  • Completion of one of the subjects from group 3 or group 4 in a language that is not the same as the candidate's nominated group 1 language. The candidate must attain a grade 3 or higher in both the group 1 language and the subject from group 3 or 4.


A maximum of three examination sessions is allowed in which to satisfy the requirements for the award of the IB diploma.  The examination sessions need not be consecutive.  Anticipated session counts as one examination session.

Last updated: 11.01.2022